Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a crime wherever you go in the United States. Some states are stricter than others, though. Arizona is a state that does not take kindly to drunk or drug drivers. If you have been arrested and charged with driving while under the influence in the state, you need to conduct extensive online research. Educate yourself about the nuances of Arizona’s DUI law so that you can mount an effective defense. This post will explore DUI laws in the state, so you can prepare yourself.
DUI cases are usually cut and dry. People are arrested for being under the influence of drugs and alcohol, tested, and charged. Then, they go to court and are prosecuted. However, a professional Arizona alcohol screening service will be able to work with you to get your license back and then you need to find a lawyer who will be able to understand your case and hopefully get you a sentence reduction. There are certain things that you can do to reduce your sentence, i.e., going to rehab or admitting to the court that you have a drinking problem and developing a plan to counter it. Rehab is expensive so is of course not for everybody; there are alternatives to it.
If you are planning on hiring legal representation or support, you need to make sure that you find the most qualified, experienced lawyer that you can. Unlike personal injury lawyers, criminal lawyers do not usually offer their services on a contingency basis. What this means is, you will have to pay for the cost of your representation. You may have to take out a loan to do this if you do not have a large legal budget. If you plan on taking out a loan, make sure you can make all of your monthly repayments.
If you are stopped driving in Arizona and are found to be over the legal limit, i.e., a blood concentration of 0.08 percent or more, then you will lose your ability to drive immediately. Then, you will be required to complete an alcohol screening prior to obtaining a temporary driving permit, which will allow you to drive again. Alcohol screening was mentioned in the previous section. Here are the different types of DUI and the penalties that go along with them:
1. First offense: Standard DUIs are broken down into two categories, first office and second and subsequent. On your first arrest, you will be jailed for no less than 10 days and fined no less than $1,250. Alcohol screening and education are also a requirement. You will also be asked to equip your vehicle with an ignition interlock device and to perform community service.
2. Second and subsequent offenses: After your first offense, if you are caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol again, you will be jailed for no less than 90 days, with a minimum fine of $3,000. Your license will be taken for a period of 12 months. Additionally, alcohol screening will be required, as will equipping your vehicle with an ignition interlock device, as mentioned above.
Extreme DUIs occur when a person has a blood alcohol level of 0.15 or more. It is considered one of the most serious categories of DUI.
1. First offense: The first time you are arrested for an extreme DUI, the minimum jail sentence is 30 days with no probation or suspended sentence eligibility and a minimum fine of $2,500. You will also be required to undergo alcohol screening and education, as you would with a standard DUI. Community service is a requirement too, as is equipping your vehicle with an ignition interlock device, which must be certified and sold by a reliable provider.
2. Second and subsequent offenses: The minimum period in jail for a second or subsequent offense is 120 days and a fine of $3,250. Your license will be taken for at least 12 months. Screening, rehab, treatment, education, and an interlock device are all also likely required, too. Community service will be also.
An aggravated DUI occurs when a person commits a DUI with a suspended license, commits a third DUI in under 84 months, or commits a DUI while there is a person 15 or under in the car with them. Additionally, a person can be charged with aggravated DUI if they refuse to submit a blood alcohol test while there is an ignition interlock device in place. The prison sentence for this is no more than two years, with a 12-month driving suspension.
DUIs are very serious. If you have been arrested and charged with an offense of this kind, you need legal support, and you need to know about the punishments you are likely to face. Make sure that you consider the guidance given here so that you can reduce your sentence.